Dear Whoever Voted On My Poll or Hunger Games Fans,     7/14/2011

     ***Before I get to that ^^^up there^^^ I want to say I’m sorry for not writing yesterday for one I was in major pain, busy, I had practice, and my head was going to explode. I ranted in a Letter To Myself but I got kicked off the computer before I could publish it and so I published it today. ***

     That being said, thanks to all who voted on my poll. To those who haven’t, you still can vote. The poll was on Dear Whoever #16 so go there and vote! Also sadly nobody voted for animals, I being an animal lover, was quite saddened by that. I was tempted to vote for it myself but I know what I want to write but the poll wanted to know what YOU wanted to READ.  And with THAT being said. I shall actually write what I had in mind for this post.

     Some of you voted photography, some excerpts, some about my life, some music,some books and book reviews, and then some, God love them, voted random are good. So knowing the results I decided let’s do it! So this is the second part of my title:

     Have you read Hunger Games? In case ya don’t know what that is, it’s a dystopian book series that’s been pretty big. We’re talking big enough to hit the big screen. It’s set to hit movie theaters in March 2012. Main characters of this kickin’ series are: Katniss, Peeta. Haymitch, Gale, the other tributes, President Snow, Coin, and Prim. There’s way more but that’s who I think are main components and who I can remember of the story. The HG series includes: The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay. These books may have a lot of gore but you won’t find any vampires or werewolves in there. The series is something new and fresh to what is becoming a wayy too old and wayy too fast and wayy too much overkilled vampire stories. Honestly, I only like reading something if everyone else hasn’t heard of it or if it’s just great. Each of the three books in this trilogy each took their own turn on the New York’s Best Seller List and after reading them it’s pretty obvious why. They’re just pure awesome. The author of the HG(Hunger Games) trilogy is Suzanne Collins. I heavily praise her writing. I never heard of her before HG but I think I’ll read some more of her books now. These books have an interesting plot with sooo many plot twists, it’s a page-turner for sure. There are a lot of twists but it’s not overkill it’s actually very nicely plotted and written. Now that I’ve praised the books and told you the characters names I guess I ought to tell you more about the actual plot(without spoiling too much) and the actual book, yes? Yes. 

Here is the overview A.K.A. the summary on the back of the book:

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before- and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love. 

     Wasn’t it great? Makes you want to read it huh? I know. I was also going to post the first chapter on here but I don’t really understand copyrights so to avoid being sued I’m not doing that anymore. Anyways check out this book so you can read the first chapter yourself, and the book, and the series. *nods* Go to the nearest library or if the county library website. They normally have online databases where you can place holds or get them to send it to the nearest library from the library it’s at. Pretty cool that system. That was the overview from the first book by the way which is called Hunger Games. I hoped you enjoyed this post and read the many more to come.

                                                              HG fan, eshy,

