Dear Whoever Likes Trends Or Dear Trend-setters, 7/11/2011
If you like trends, follow them, or set them, then this is my post to you! The defintion of trend is:
trend-n.
1. The general direction in which something tends to move.
2. A general tendency or inclination.
3. Current style; vogue: the latest trend in fashion.
Now I’m talking the third definition. Now I totally understand trends are constantly changing. But that’s why in the definition it says “3. current style-” Current. It wouldn’t be a trend if it wasn’t only here and gone, it’d be a classic. Now I have a totally awesome item I want to introduce to you. Before I do however, I wanna make it clear I’m not working for them or advertising them or anything I just like them and what they stand for. So I am talking about Toms . I know and like their shoes but I’m not sure if they have any other stuff. They are canvas shoes and very comfortable. Available in women and mens, kids, and baby sizes.
They come in a variety of styles, colors, sizes, and prints. They are comfortable but besides being comfortable, they are awesome. And I will tell you why my dear friend. The Toms brand is awesome because for every pair of shoes they sell, they give a pair away to a child in need. So basically when you buy a pair of Toms you’re buying 2 pairs of shoes. One for you and for a for a kid in a third wheel country who needs them. They are a little more expensive than most shoes but not by much, actually a pair of Converse are what $40? 50 bucks? The Classic Toms are only $44! So basically for 4 more dollars you can buy a pair for someone who needs them, probably more than you. So to learn more about the Toms movement go here http://www.toms.com/our-movement/ .
They aren’t bad shoes, they’re very comfortable, they are part of the current trend(plus if they grow old and out of fashion, go get a Sharpie and re-style them if not, who cares?! You don’t always have to follow someone else! Except for when it’s for a good cause, say like now, which then you should.), there are very legit reasons for buying them that totally justify the price, and they’re cute, which never hurt. So if you’re too lazy to go to the link I put up I will tell you what their website says-
This is the story of Toms:
In 2006, American traveler Blake Mycoskie befriended children in Argentina and found they had no shoes to protect their feet. Wanting to help, he created TOMS, a company that would match every pair of shoes purchased with a pair of new shoes given to a child in need. One for One. Blake returned to Argentina with a group of family, friends and staff later that year with 10,000 pairs of shoes made possible by TOMS customers.

So why did Blake Mycoskie pick shoes?
Many children in developing countries grow up barefoot. Whether at play, doing chores or going to school, these children are at risk:

•A leading cause of disease in developing countries is soil-transmitted diseases, which can penetrate the skin through bare feet. Wearing shoes can help prevent these diseases, and the long-term physical and cognitive harm they cause.

•Wearing shoes also prevents feet from getting cuts and sores. Not only are these injuries painful, they also are dangerous when wounds become infected.

•Many times children can’t attend school barefoot because shoes are a required part of their uniform. If they don’t have shoes, they don’t go to school. If they don’t receive an education, they don’t have the opportunity to realize their potential.

So if I haven’t convinced you yet to check out their movement or buy a pair then I will say in my last attempt to do so, they have a really inspiring video on their website that is accessible by their link which I put ^^^up there^^^. I’ll toss out another link because today I’m feeling generous. http://www.toms.com/ that’s the link to their home page. From there you can order shoes, check their movement, see awesome pics of the shoes, read reviews from Toms owners, and explore/see what I’m talking about. Toms are also available in some stores. I’m not sure which but 2 that definetly sell them are Nordstrom and RedESurf which you should be able to order them from their websites or the Toms website. I think they’re cheapest on the Toms website but that’s not a definite.
My sister has 2 pairs of Toms and she’s waiting for her 3rd pair to come in. I don’t own any myself but I’ve worn hers and tried on the ones in the stores. I, being a fresh teenager, in the US, am flat broke and I’m saving up for 2 pairs. Hopefully I can get them before school starts up again. I want to get the Ash Womens Classic and the Olive Womens Classic. It might be awhile but I’m looking forward to it and knowing that I’ll be helping 2 people in need of shoes. I don’t really need new shoes and I’m not much of a trend setter or follower but that doesn’t mean that I can’t do a little bit of good. And if you’re not really into trends, as am I, that still doesn’t mean you can’t rock a trend every once in awhile and do a good deed while you’re at it.
a future Toms owner, eshy,

